## August 15, 2023

In the June meeting, Lebanon Council appointed a committee to review changes to be made our existing constitution as required by Synod. Committee members are Terry Beckmann, Meg Eaton and Al Wheeler. The Council requested that the committee complete their work and report back at the August meeting. That report is as follows:

Changes to our constitution were required by Synod on two separate documents, as approved by the Churchwide Assembly in 2019 and in 2022. Our committee has reviewed each change on each document and has compiled a draft revised constitution including only those changes that are, to the best of our knowledge, applicable. Each member of the committee has proofread the draft revised constitution for accuracy. Copies of the draft are available to Council members electronically upon request.

The vast majority of the changes were made to provisions prefixed by a an asterisk (\*). Since \* denotes required provisions, all of those changes were made. One provision that had been optional added an asterisk, now making it required. Since it had been in our original constitution as an optional provision, we will experience no real effect from that change. Our committee found that the changes made to optional provisions will not alter the original intent.

The committee proposes adding two optional provisions:

C10.08

This congregation may hold meetings by remote communication, including electronically and by telephone conference, as long as there is an opportunity for simultaneous aural communication or its equivalent. To the extent permitted by state law, notice of all meetings may be provided electronically.

C10.09

"Ex officio" as used herein means membership with full rights of voice and vote unless otherwise expressly limited.

Council approval of the draft revised constitution is required before it can be submitted for Synod approval. Only after the Synod has approved can the Congregation vote on its acceptance. The 2024 Congregation Meeting would be the desired date of that vote.

Respectively,

Terry Beekman Meg Eaton Al Wheeler